Festive Fare: books and movies to fuel your holiday spirit

I usually enjoy the lead up to Christmas more than the day itself–I love texting with my friends about silly Hallmark movies and reading holiday books. If you’re here, hopefully you enjoy those festive reading and watching choices too!

I also have a special affection for this time of year because, after nearly two years of rejection, I had a Christmas-themed story published last December (my story is on page 71, if you feel so inclined). It’s about the “12 Days of Christmas” carol being a spell that a family of winter witches use to save the world. Successfully getting a second paid publication helped me get four more stories accepted for publication in the last 12 months.

But, enough about me! Let’s get on with the fun holiday fare!

3 Holiday Books

For those who like their holiday stories a little wacky: Just Like Magic by Sarah Hogle

Why it’s fun: The bonkers premise of this story is that Bettie–a spoiled former socialite fallen on hard times–accidentally summons Hall, the personification of the Holiday Spirit. As she spends time with Hall (and makes the most of his magic) she slowly starts to question some of her assumptions about what she thought was important. This story was hilarious and sweet and surprisingly poignant in parts.

If you’d rather read holiday themed fantasy/ satire: Hogfather by Terry Pratchett

Why it’s fun: The personification of death has to take over for the Hogfather in order to save Hogswatch (Discworld’s version of Christmas)–and make sure the sun actually rises again. With a sleigh pulled by enormous hogs, Death is enjoying being someone people are happy to see for once. Pratchett’s stories are consistently funny and thought-provoking; I enjoy re-reading this one.

If you want a holiday romance about self discovery: One Last Gift by Emily Stone

Why it’s fun: After her brother dies, Cassie receives one final Christmas scavenger hunt from him that sets her off on a journey of self-discovery, and helps her reconnect with a childhood friend/first love. This one was very sweet and affirming.

5 of the Best Hallmark Holiday Movies this year

I watch (or fast-forward through) a lot of Hallmark movies this time of year. Here are my 5 favorites that didn’t have me reaching for the remote.

If you like animals and movies where people reconnect: Mystic Christmas

Why it’s fun: This one had strong writing and laugh-out-loud lines in places. I adored the male lead’s sister/female lead’s best friend and found it believable that these two very compatible people would still have had some growing to do before they could make it work. I also liked that the focus was on them making each other better rather than either one of them sacrificing their dreams for the other. As a science geek myself, I liked that the female lead was a vet who focused on seal rehabilitation. This one also featured a really sweet spin on an Icelandic tradition.

If you like time loop movies: Round and Round

Why it’s fun: A Jewish friend of mine says this is the first Hallmark Hanukkah movie she’s loved. (It only took Hallmark half a dozen tries to get it right!) The banter in this one was very funny and I really enjoyed the leads. I also loved the people in the comic book shop they consult to try to end the time loop and the fact that the geeky male lead was still considered desirable without being pressured to become less geeky. The grandma in this was also great. (As an aspiring author, I do find it frustrating how easily movie leads seem to stumble into people wanting to champion their work, although the fact it was her editor cousin definitely made it more palatable and she didn’t immediately have a publishing deal at the end.)

If you like movies about following your dreams: Sealed with a List

Why it’s fun: The leads are charming. The premise of the movie is that Carley sets out to accomplish all of her new years resolutions in the final 31 days of the year with the help of her former boss, Wyatt. I liked how they played off of each other and the secondary characters were nicely fleshed out compared to most of these movies. Their relationships with their mother (for Carley) and father (for Wyatt) were also interesting.

If you like time travel movies: A Biltmore Christmas

Why it’s fun: While I’m not recommending any without charming leads, these two did a really nice job selling a silly premise. The location is also beautiful and I liked the take on a writer accidentally traveling through time with the help of a magic hourglass to the set of a Christmas classic movie filmed in the 1940s. Her interest in learning about the original alternate ending of the movie was a fun twist, even if she does fall for the charming actor whose only starring role was that holiday classic.

If you like your holiday movies to include crime and Santa: Catch Me if You Claus

Why it’s fun: Honestly, this one surprised me. I turned it on expecting to fast-forward through it and then was consistently entertained throughout the whole movie. And, while many Hallmark movies don’t stick the landing, this one did. I never thought I’d have so much fun with a movie about an aspiring news anchor about to have her big break catching a man who insists he’s the son of Santa Claus in her home and thinking he’s the so-called “Santa Crook” who’s been burglarizing homes in her city. The writing was funny and I found myself enjoying the leads as they tried to solve the mystery and accomplish both of their goals.

With whatever you read, watch, or celebrate this holiday season, I wish you a happy, festive time!

2 thoughts on “Festive Fare: books and movies to fuel your holiday spirit

  1. It’s always a joy to read your posts (although I admit to not checking often enough to find a new one! I’m going to see if I can catch some of these – both at the library (maybe they’ll be back in after the Christmas season) and on the stations – I know they start them ridiculously early, I’m not sure how long they stick around the holidays, though!! And heartfelt congrats on the publications!! I hope this year will be even better for you!!

    Like

Leave a comment